The best way of spending your 150 bucks is…

Google Nik.

I have been using photoshop for over 6 years now and my belief was there is no need (or room) for any other graphics software as everything is covered. That was until yesterday where I came across Google Nik collection.

It’s a set of plugins that transform photoshop tools to simplify them further and squeeze out the best they have to offer. Naturally, if you are the ‘trigger-happy’ cross-processor like myself, you are likely to cause more damage than help out, but once you get the hang of it and apply in moderation… I dug through some of my photographs from a not-so-recent trip to Cameron House in south of Scotland, well, some effects below.

Everything withing a couple of mouse clicks, incredible.

I think the most notable of all are the attempts on wet plate techniques – to my knowledge this has always been considered impossible in the digital realm. Not anymore; this time a perfect blend of smart blurs and high-res textures get it just about right.

It’s free trial for 2 weeks, go wild.

http://www.google.com/nikcollection/

5 thoughts on “The best way of spending your 150 bucks is…

  1. great images, I like every one of those, $150 though… not for the casual user really. COuld be nice to see a comparison of the old image and the one where the effect was added.

    1. On one hand you are absolutely right – for a casual camera user this might be an overkill, however if you compare this suite with some plugins that’s a real bargain: in some instances you are likely to pay roughly a hundred for HDR processing software alone , so everything extra that you get on top of it is really worth the money.

      Might be a good idea to have a before and after, thanks for a good tip and for stopping by!

      1. I have a really old version of Photoshop (CS2 I think) and I managed to get some cheap plug in’s from a website )whose name escapes me at the moment) I want to go through some of my old photographs and maybe add something to them like these add ins.

        The photo’s are not that great to begin with though but it may be a good starting point.

Whatdya think?

